"Easy-to-read" information is available in German.

Jump to content | Jump to help navigation | Jump to main navigation | Jump to sub navigation | Jump to services | Jump to search | Jump to hotline | Jump to footer

  • Switching to easy reading
  • Change font size
  • Contrast view normal
  • Contrast view black-yellow
  • Contrast view blue-white

The United Kingdom left the EU at the end of January 31, 2020. The Withdrawal Agreement entered into force on February 1, 2020.

The Withdrawal Agreement sets out the key aspects of the UK's withdrawal from the EU. Among other things, it covers the "divorce bill," i.e., the UK's outstanding financial obligations to the EU. Residence rights and rights acquired in the area of social security/pension of EU citizens living in the UK will be preserved. In addition, the agreement provides for a transitional phase until December 31, 2020, during which the body of EU law will continue to apply to the United Kingdom. For citizens and companies, therefore, there will initially be no changes until the end of the transition period.

 As of January 1, 2021, a distinction must be made between the right of residence of British citizens and their family members. Persons who have a right of residence based on the withdrawal agreement must apply for an "Artikel 50 EUV" residence permit between January 1 and December 31, 2021. Further information can be found here as well as to the application forms for the residence permit.

nationals who move to Austria for the first time after January 1, 2021, can generally not invoke the Withdrawal Agreement. Therefore, the regulations of the Settlement and Residence Act (as for other third-country nationals) apply to them. You can find more information on this page.

General information on the effects of the BREXIT can be found here Brexit - Federal Chancellery of Austria (bundeskanzleramt.gv.at)

» mehr lesen

Help navigation: